NIH Pathways to Independence Awardees Recognized

The NIEHS Division of Extramural Research and Training (DERT) recently recognized three additional NIH Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00) ( NIEHS recipients for their successful transition to tenure track or equivalent status and officially welcomed them as members of the NIEHS grantee community.


After a project review of their research, training and career development accomplishments, the following recipients moved from an R99 mentored-postdoctoral phase of their training to R00 status as independent principal investigators:

Since the program was initiated in 2007, NIEHS has made approximately 25 K99 grant awards. So far, five of these K99 awardees have successfully transitioned to faculty positions and have been awarded the R00 grant funding. Several more have achieved faculty positions and R00 awards are pending.